Rep. Higgins named as this year’s Myrick Award recipient



DOVER-FOXCROFT — The executive committee of the Piscataquis County Economic Development Council (PCEDC) has named Rep. Norman Higgins (R-Dover-Foxcroft) as the 14th recipient of the Warren “Pete” Myrick Award.

Rep. Higgins exemplifies the criteria set by the late Pete Myrick, a Guilford resident, longtime educator and founder of the PCEDC. Award criteria includes overall impact of the candidate’s accomplishments, the duration of the candidate’s engagement in community service activities and the breadth of community involvement.  

The executive committee presents the Myrick Award each year to recognize a Piscataquis County citizen, business or organization who exemplifies Myrick’s concern for and commitment to education, economic development and/or civic leadership in the region.

“Pete Myrick and I worked 32 years together in SAD 4, both in the classroom and in administration,” Higgins said. “Our goal was improving educational opportunities for our students and adults throughout Piscataquis County. I can think of no honor I value more, than the Pete Myrick Award.”

“Norm has been a tireless advocate for advancing economic development throughout our county; he is a collaborator and partner in advancing access to broadband, providing sensible solutions as it relates to affordable and renewable energy, and in advocating on our behalf on a statewide level,” said PCEDC Executive Director Christopher Winstead. “We are pleased to name Norm as a recipient of the Warren ‘Pete’ Myrick Award.”

Higgins will be honored on Monday, Dec. 5 from 5-7:30 p.m. at the Mill Event Space during the PCEDC annual meeting. For more information and to RSVP, please contact Winstead at 564-3638 or


Get the Rest of the Story

Thank you for reading your 4 free articles this month. To continue reading, and support local, rural journalism, please subscribe.