Nominations sought for Myrick Award

DOVER-FOXCROFT — The executive committee of the Piscataquis County Economic Development Council (PCEDC) is seeking nominations for the annual Warren “Pete” Myrick Community Service Award, to be presented at the annual meeting of PCEDC in December. Meeting date and location will be disclosed soon.

The Myrick Award is given to recognize a Piscataquis County resident, business or organization who exemplifies Myrick’s concern for and commitment to education, economic development and/or civic leadership in the region. Myrick, a Guilford resident who died in 2002, was a longtime educator in SAD 4 and one of the founders of the PCEDC, serving as the council’s president in 2001.

Previous Myrick Award recipients are Owen Pratt, retired Dover-Foxcroft town manager (2003); Merlene Sanborn, director of the Penquis Higher Education Center (2004); Roger Merchant, Piscataquis County Cooperative Extension Service (2005); Edwin Treworgy, retired educator, long-term member of the SAD 41 school board and member of the Three Rivers Kiwanis in Milo/Brownville (2006); Tracy Michaud Stutzman, executive director of the Maine Crafts Association (2007); Sherry French, office manager for WDME Radio (2008); Rhonda Taylor of Maine Highlands Federal Credit Union (2009) John Simko, former town manager of Greenville and former president of PCEDC (2010);

Thelma Regan, executive director of Piscataquis Valley Adult Education Cooperative (2011); Bob and Barbara Moore, owners Bob’s Sugarhouse (2012); Dennis Green, former select board member Brownville (2013); Richard “Dick” Brown, CEO Charlotte White Center (2014); Eddie Lewis, volunteerism and community and the Dover-Foxcroft Kiwanis Club (2015); Rep. Norman E. Higgins, I-Dover-Foxcroft (2016); and Sue Mackey Andrews, Solutions Consulting Group, LLC, Dover-Foxcroft (2017).

Criteria to be considered in determining the award winner will include the overall impact of the candidate’s accomplishments, the duration of the candidate’s engagement in community service activities and the breadth of involvement in the community. The award is not given to recognize anyone solely for job performance, but seeks to acknowledge those who go above and beyond in donating their time to community service. Criteria for nomination directly tie to education, economic development and/or civic leadership.

PCEDC is changing up the process this year. Starting Sept. 1 you will find a nomination form (detailing how your nominee meets the criteria) at Nomination packages (completed nomination form and any supporting documentation) must be received by Sept. 28.

Nomination packages may be sent via email to Christopher Winstead at or mailed to Christopher Winstead, Executive Director, Piscataquis County Economic Development Council 50 Mayo Street Dover-Foxcroft, Maine 04426.

Get the Rest of the Story

Thank you for reading your 4 free articles this month. To continue reading, and support local, rural journalism, please subscribe.