Foxcroft Academy announces Rose Award recipients, honor parts

DOVER-FOXCROFT — On Thursday, May 9 Foxcroft Academy held a special ceremony to announce the Class of 2024 outstanding scholars at its annual Rose Award ceremony. This year the recipients are Ashton Ade, Noah Cavanagh, Olivia Gage, Annabelle Holman, Hilary Howard, Conner Johnston, Elyse Nutter, Taylor Pahlavan, Aubry Paradis, Amara Perfect, and Wyatt Rayfield.

The Rose Awards were established in 1931 when Frank G. Stone was head of Foxcroft Academy. Rose Award recipients have accumulated a grade point average that places them in the top 15 percent of their class’s permanent students. For the 39th consecutive year, a medallion with the Foxcroft Academy seal was presented to the recipients in addition to the traditional rose. Priscilla White, former English teacher and librarian who retired after 36 years of service, and Robert Beek, who taught mathematics for 33 years, conceived the idea for this permanent award and contributed funds to have the die-cast for the medallion, which has now become a permanent part of the annual ceremony. 

Photo courtesy of Foxcroft Academy
ROSE AWARD HONOREES — Foxcroft Academy’s 2024 Rose Award recipients are front, from left, Elyse Nutter, Taylor Pahlavan, Aubry Paradis, Amara Perfect, and Wyatt Rayfield. Back, Annabelle Holman, Olivia Gage, Ashton Ade, and Hilary Howard. Not pictured, Conner Johnston and Noah Cavanagh.

In addition Foxcroft Academy Head of School Arnold Shorey is pleased to announce the honor parts for the Class of 2024, the 201st class in school history. 

The valedictorian for the Class of 2024 is Elyse Nutter. Elyse is the daughter of Christine and Shane Nutter, and she lives in Sebec. She has been involved as a member of the National Honor Society, Latin Club, Peer Mediation, Trivia Club, Volleyball Club, and various other organizations. Elyse received the 2024 MPA Award. She plans to attend the University of Maine this fall, enrolling in the honors program. 

The salutatorian for the Class of 2024 is Annabelle Holman. Annabelle is the daughter of Randy and Lorna Holman, and she lives in Dover-Foxcroft. She has been heavily involved as she’s been a member of the National Honor Society, senior class president, a member of the Student Council, and has been part of other various clubs. She’s been a four-year member of the girls’ tennis team, serving as team captain and helping the Ponies win the 2023 Class B North championship. This fall, Annabelle plans on attending the University of Maine, majoring in chemical engineering. 

Graduation exercises are scheduled for Sunday, June 9 at 1 p.m. in the Jim Robinson Field House. The faculty speaker is Charles Beale, and the guest speaker is Dr. Lynne Coy-Ogan, ‘83, incoming president of Husson University in Bangor. The junior class marshalls representing the Class of 2025 are Silas Topolski and Shaelyn Jankunas.

Get the Rest of the Story

Thank you for reading your 4 free articles this month. To continue reading, and support local, rural journalism, please subscribe.