Senate committee assignments announced for the 131st Maine Legislature

AUGUSTA — Senate President Troy Jackson, D-Allagash, announced Senate committee assignments for the 131st Maine Legislature. There are 17 joint-standing committees, a new Joint Select Committee on Housing, the Government Oversight Committee, and several Senate standing committees.

Sen. Stacey Guerin, R-Glenburn of District 4 is on the Joint Standing Committee on Innovation, Development, Economic Advancement and Business with Chairperson Sen. Glenn “Chip” Curry, D-Waldo, and Sen. Joe Rafferty, D-York).

Guerin will also be on the Bills in the Second Reading standing committee with Sen. Stacy Brenner, D-Cumberland, Sen. Henry Ingwersen, D-York, and Sen. Peter Lyford, R-Penobscot.

Lawmakers are assigned to legislative committees by the presiding officers based on their interest, experience, professional background, or the region of the make-up of their district. Joint Standing Committees consist of 13 members, three from the Senate and 10 from the House of Representatives.

Get the Rest of the Story

Thank you for reading your 4 free articles this month. To continue reading, and support local, rural journalism, please subscribe.