Author Archives: Stuart Hedstrom
6 days ago
SAD 41 district budget meeting Thursday evening
The dates for the annual district budget meeting and referendum on the 2018-19 SAD 41 budget were both scheduled by the school board during a June 13 meeting at the Penquis Valley School. The annual district budget meeting will be held at 6 p.m. on Thursday, June 21 in the Walter E. Oakes Gymnasium at Penquis Valley, with an informational meeting before at 5:30 p.m. The total budget approved across the warrant items then will be moved to a referendum one week later on Thursday, June 28.
6 days ago
Greenville holds off Penobscot Valley in seventh inning to win Class D championship
In three consecutive innings from the bottom of the fourth to the home half of the sixth South top seed Greenville High School softball escaped bases loaded jams against North No. 2 Penobscot Valley High School of Howland in the 2018 Class D championship on the afternoon of June 16 at Brewer High School’s Coffin Field. The defending state champion Howlers would cut a 4-1 deficit to 4-3 in the seventh, but Greenville kept the potential tying run stranded at third to win the first state championship in program history
2 weeks ago
Libra Foundation transforming Monson into an arts destination
For the last year in-town Monson has been undergoing many changes through the Portland-based Libra Foundation. The organization has purchased more than 20 properties along Main Street and across town, including the former Monson Elementary School that most recently served as a community center, and many of the buildings have been torn down or are in the renovation process for the purpose of transforming the community into the Monson Arts artists’ colony as part of the foundation’s mission of making contributions to worthy causes across Maine to spur economic and creative growth.
Prev Page Next