Sypitkowski appointed as new director of Baxter State Park

Share or Comment

BAXTER STATE PARK — It is with great pleasure that the Baxter State Park Authority announces the appointment of its new park director, Eben Sypitkowski.

Sypitkowski brings a proven commitment to Gov. Percival Baxter’s vision that will serve the park well under his tenure. Sypitkowski understanding of the workings of the park is exceptional and his knowledge base will be of great advantage as he works with staff to bring the park to a heightened level of excellence.

Sypitkowski is currently serving as Baxter State Park’s resource manager and is managing its Scientific Forest Management Area. He brings knowledge and experience to the role of director, and a proven passion for upholding the Baxter Trusts and serving its mission.

A graduate of Bangor High School and Bates College, Sypitkowski has earned a Master’s Degree in Forestry from the University of Maine. He and his wife and daughter reside in Millinocket.

Sypitkowski will lead the approximately 22 year-round, and 39 seasonal employees that protect, maintain and operate the park. Park operations are also supported by the Maine Conservation Corps and other contracted personnel to prepare firewood bundles, perform road maintenance and forest harvesting and management operations and other maintenance work.

Baxter State Park is the result of a dream of former Gov. Percival P. Baxter who donated the first parcel of land in 1931 and over the years added various parcels until his final acquisition in 1962 brought the park’s area to 201,018 acres. Since then, the authority has purchased and been gifted additional acreage to bring the park to its current size of 209,644 acres. In addition to the various gifts of land, Gov. Baxter also left two sizeable trust funds to carry out the operation and maintenance of the park without the need for state funding.

The Baxter State Park Authority, comprised of the attorney general, the commissioner of Inland Fisheries and Wildlife and the director of the Bureau of Forestry, have been charged since 1939 with carrying out Gov. Baxter’s vision that “Katahdin in all its glory, forever shall remain the mountain of the people of Maine.”

The current authority members are Director of the Bureau of Forestry Doug Denico, Commissioner of IF&W Chandler Woodcock and Attorney General Janet Mills.


Share or Comment

Get the Rest of the Story

Thank you for reading your 4 free articles this month. To continue reading, and support local, rural journalism, please subscribe.