PVC honors on the diamond

Share or Comment

Baseball and softball players from the region’s high school earned postseason recognition from the Penobscot Valley Conference for their performances during 2018.

Levi Stedman of Foxcroft Academy was named to the PVC Class B Baseball Second Team.

The Class C First Team includes Dexter Regional High School pitcher Jacob Bickford, Dexter’s Matthew Richards and Matthew Hanscome at catcher and first base respectively and Cam Kane of Piscataquis Community High School as a pitcher. Jeremy Martin of Penquis Valley High School earned honorable mention recognition.

Bickford was also named the PVC Class C Player of the Year.

The Class D First Team includes Evan Bjork and Anthony Mason of Greenville High School. Greenville’s Camden Harmon and Noah Pratt were both honorable mention picks.

Bjork also earned Class D Pitcher of the Year honors.

For softball, Makenzie Beaudry and Jenna Clukey of Foxcroft Academy were both named to the Class B First Team.

Foxcroft’s Cailin Seavey was chosen for the Second Team.

Pony head coach Stephanie Smith and Jenn Plourde of Old Town High School shared Class B Coach of the Year honors.

The Class C First Team has Camryn Rolfe of Penquis in the outfield.

The Second Team pitcher is Avery Herrick of Dexter.

Members of the Class D First Team from Greenville are Bianca Breton, Shelby Cowin and Halle Pelletier.

Lakers head coach Michael Cabral is the Class D Coach of the Year.

All-Academic honorees are Stedman, Jacob Olson and Esau Olson of Foxcroft for Class B. Class C/D selections are Tyler Beem, Bickford, Tylor Handy, Matthew Hanscome and Matthew Richards of Dexter, PCHS’ Kane and Connor DiAngelo, Damian Hemond, Anthony Mason and Pratt of Greenville.

Top softball student-athletes include Clukey for Class B and for C/D Kaitlyn Webber of Dexter, Lena Dones and Erin Speed of PCHS and Greenville’s Emma Bilodeau, Sierra Bussell, Cowin and Makenzie Redimaker.

Share or Comment

Get the Rest of the Story

Thank you for reading your 4 free articles this month. To continue reading, and support local, rural journalism, please subscribe.