All-state field hockey honorees

Share or Comment

Five players from the area’s three high school field hockey programs have been chosen for the 2019 Maine Field Hockey Association All-State team.

The local honorees on the Class C squad are Cheyenne Beem and Avery Herrick of Dexter Regional High School, Foxcroft Academy’s Cassidy Marsh and Ava Rayfield and Sydney Hutchins of Piscataquis Community High School.

Observer file photo/Stuart Hedstrom
ALL-STATE — Ava Rayfield of Foxcroft Academy moves for positioning against Winthrop/Monmouth junior Kerrigan Anuszewski during the Class C state championship. Rayfield is one of five players from the region selected for the Maine Field Hockey Association All-State team at the Class C level.

The all-state selections will be recognized at the annual awards banquet at 1 p.m. on Sunday, Dec. 8 at the Augusta Civic Center. Criteria for these players includes: performs consistently at a high skill level; possesses leadership on and off the field; exhibits excellent sportsmanship; and is dedicated to the game of field hockey

Each varsity coach is able to nominate up to three players from their own team. The nominees are then voted on by all coaches in the state. Each coach may vote for up to 11 players, not including their own.

Share or Comment

Get the Rest of the Story

Thank you for reading your 4 free articles this month. To continue reading, and support local, rural journalism, please subscribe.