U.S. Sen. Collins congratulates Robshaw as a Maine Sports Hall of Fame Scholar-Athlete

Share or Comment

PORTLAND — U.S. Sen. Susan Collins, R-Maine recently attended the Maine Sports Hall of Fame VIP reception, where she met with this year’s recipients of the 2019 Maine Sports Hall of Fame Scholar-Athlete Awards. The six students were presented with $5,000 scholarships during the 44th annual awards ceremony on May 19 at Merrill Auditorium.

The students include Penquis Valley High School’s Cymeria Robshaw and Alex Ezzy of Caribou High School, Tyler Bridge of Wells High School, Emma Hargreaves of Old Town High School, Nyagoa Bayak of Westbrook High School and Liberty Ladd of Falmouth High School.

Cymeria Robshaw Penquis

Photo courtesy of the Office of U.S. Sen. Susan Collins
HALL OF FAME SCHOLAR-ATHLETES — Penquis Valley High School senior Cymeria Robshaw, second from right, and the five other 2019 Maine Sports Hall of Fame Scholar-Athlete Award recipients met U.S. Sen. Susan Collins, R-Maine during the May 19 presentation in Portland. Pictured are, from left, Alex Ezzy, Tyler Bridge, Emma Hargreaves, Collins, Nyagoa Bayak, Robshaw and Liberty Ladd.

“I was delighted to have the opportunity to congratulate these six outstanding students on receiving this award, which recognizes their hard work and dedication both in the classroom and on the field,” Collins said.

Established in 1972, the Maine Sports Hall of Fame appoints and bestows recognition awards and scholarships to outstanding Maine high school scholar-athletes and formally honors Maine athletes and sports figures who have brought distinction to the state.

Share or Comment

Get the Rest of the Story

Thank you for reading your 4 free articles this month. To continue reading, and support local, rural journalism, please subscribe.