Foxcroft Academy announces 2019 Rose Award recipients

Share or Comment

DOVER-FOXCROFT — On May 1 a special assembly was held at Foxcroft Academy to announce the Class of 2019’s outstanding scholars at the annual Rose Award ceremony. This year, the recipients are Aida Abdykashova, Brigid Casey, Yeojeong “Liz” Choi, Lauren Cooper, Nicolas Daneman, Abigail Henderson, Keying “Chloe” Huang (Salutatorian), Spencer Ireland (Valedictorian), Rylie Kleikamp, Yifan “Frances” Li, Gavyn Moreshead, Mariah Poulin, Cailin Seavey, Dustin Simmon, Matthew Spooner and Hannah Sprecher.

The Rose Awards were established in 1931 when Mr. Frank G. Stone was head of Foxcroft Academy. Rose Award recipients have accumulated a GPA that places them in the top 15 percent of the permanent students in their class. For the 34th consecutive year, a medallion with the Foxcroft Academy seal were presented to the recipients in addition to the traditional rose. These medallions were set to be presented May 3 in conjunction with the induction ceremony for the eighth class of the Foxcroft Academy Academic Hall of Fame.

Foxcroft Academy Rose Awards

Photo courtesy of Foxcroft Academy
ROSE AWARD STUDENTS — The Foxcroft Academy Class of 2019 Rose Award recipients — who have a GPA placing them in the top 15 percent of their class — were announced during a May 1 ceremony. Front, from left, are Keying Huang, Abigail Henderson, Rylie Kleikamp, Lauren Cooper, Cailin Seavy, Brigid Casey, Yeojeong Choi and Nic Daneman. Back, Yifan Li, Matt Spooner, Gavyn Moreshead, Dustin Simmons, Spencer Ireland, Mariah Poulin. Hannah Sprecher and Aida Abdykashova.

Priscilla White, former English teacher and librarian who retired after 36 years of service, and Robert Beek, who taught mathematics for 33 years, conceived the idea for this permanent award, and contributed funds to have the die cast for the medallion, which has now become a permanent part of the annual ceremony.

Share or Comment

Get the Rest of the Story

Thank you for reading your 4 free articles this month. To continue reading, and support local, rural journalism, please subscribe.