Foxcroft Academy’s Pony Pride 5K set for Aug. 4

Share or Comment

DOVER-FOXCROFT — In conjunction with Foxcroft Academy’s Alumni Weekend and the Dover-Foxcroft Shiretown Homecoming, the 22nd annual Pony Pride will be open to all and run at 8 a.m. on Saturday, Aug. 4. For the third year in a row, the event is starting and ending on the campus of Foxcroft Academy.

The first mile is relatively flat, the second mile features a slight upgrade, mile No. 3 has varying terrain and the final 200 meters are on the Foxcroft Academy track.

Registration for the Pony Pride 5K starts at 7 a.m. at the Foxcroft Academy track building on West Main Street with rates available for those who pre-register, sign up the day of the race or who enter as families. T-shirts go to the first 80 to register.

Prizes will be awarded to the top male and female runners, top Foxcroft Academy male and female alumni and top male and female Foxcroft Academy faculty finishers as well as to age group winners.

More information and registration forms are available at

Pony Pride Foxcroft Academy

Observer file photo/Stuart Hedstrom
AND THEY’RE OFF TO GALLOP THROUGH DOVER-FOXCROFT — Fifty-five runners participated in the 2017 Pony Pride 5K during Foxcroft Academy Alumni Weekend. The race starts in front of the main school building and concludes on the track, and this year’s race will begin at 8 a.m. on Saturday, Aug. 4.

All-time Pony Pride winners (year, men’s winner and time, women’s winner and time): 1997 Tim Wakeland 16:20 Jana Crocker 21:26; 1998 John Chase 17:05 Sunshine Weinrich 20:30; 1999 Justin Bates 17:06 Amanda Thompson 22:14; 2000 Wakeland 17:00 Dana Frasz 20:39; 2001 Dave Nelson 16:16 Frasz 20:31; 2002 Mike Chilly 17:21 Katherine Carroll 21:35; 2003 Bates 16:24 Cassie Hintz 18:40; 2004 Wakeland 16:24 Hintz 17:15; 2005 Eric Rudolph 17:02 Hintz 17:13; 2006 Greg Hammett 16:50 Hintz 18:07 (due to bridge construction on Essex Street course was 3.19 miles); 2007 Hammett 16:16 Elizabeth Brunton 19:11; 2008 Rudolph 16:17 Brunton 19:36; 2009; 2009 Rudolph 16:25 Katie Herbine 19:37; 2010 Shawn Keenan 17:20 Brunton 18:24; 2011 Jerod Hayes 16:55 Hintz 19:22; 2012 Graham Pearsall 16:42 Meghan Keane 21:53; 2013 Pearsall 17:11 Diane Keenan 20:13; 2014 Pearsall 16:47 Heather Mailhot 24:31; 2015 Pearsall 16:41 Jenny Clawson 23:41; 2016 Cooper Nelson 17:20 Keenan 20:21 (new course); and 2017 Nelson 18:22 Angelina Teachout 23:01.

Share or Comment

Get the Rest of the Story

Thank you for reading your 4 free articles this month. To continue reading, and support local, rural journalism, please subscribe.