Gilbert named to BDN All-Maine School Basketball Third Team

Share or Comment

Piscataquis Community High School senior Bryce Gilbert, a 6-0 guard for the Pirates, is a Third Team selection on the 63rd Bangor Daily News All-Maine Schoolboy Basketball Team. The honor places Gilbert among the top 15 players across the state of Maine in all five classes.

Gilbert was one of the state’s top scorers in the face of numerous gimmick defenses, and concluded his career as the top scorer in PCHS history with 1,474 points.

The versatile guard, who was named to the All-Penobscot Valley Conference First Team after leading the league in scoring during the regular season, was at his best in the open court. He often grabbed a defensive rebound and drove the full 84 feet to create his own fast-break chances or generate scoring bids for teammates. Gilbert will continue his basketball career at the University of Maine at Fort Kent.

Senior Nick Foley of Class D champion Greenville HIgh School was one of 29 players from throughout the state to receive honorable mention recognition on the Bangor Daily News All-Maine Schoolboy Basketball Team.

Both Gilbert and Foley earned honorable mention status during their junior seasons one year ago.

Newly crowned Mr. Maine Basketball and two-time Gatorade Maine Player of the year Terion Moss of Portland and dynamic junior forward Matt Fleming of Bangor head of the Bangor Daily News All-Maine Schoolboy Basketball Team, a contingent notable not only for its collective talent but for its versatility.

Joining Moss, a 5-foot-10 guard, and 6-6 forward Fleming on the All-Maine first team are 6-1 guard Taylor Schildroth of George Stevens Academy in Blue Hill, 6-4 junior forward Wol Maiwen of Edward Little of Auburn and 6-7 junior center Nick Fiorillo of Scarborough.

Second-team honorees are 5-10 senior guard Nick Curtis of Windham, 6-5 senior center Ian McIntyre of Hampden Academy, 6-0 senior guard Griffin Guerrette of Presque Isle, 6-4 junior forward Ben Onek of Deering of Portland and 6-0 senior guard Zac Manoogian of Westbrook.

Named to the all-senior All-Maine third team with Gilbert is 6-4 forward Finn Bowe of Cape Elizabeth, 6-foot guard Zach Hartsgrove of Nokomis of Newport, 6-6 forward Nolan Hagerty of Yarmouth and 6-2 guard Keenan Marseille of Hermon.

BDN All-Maine
Schoolboy Basketball
Third Team honoree
Bryce Gilbert of PCHS

BDN All-Maine
Schoolboy Basketball Team
honorable mention player
Nick Foley of Greenville

Share or Comment

Get the Rest of the Story

Thank you for reading your 4 free articles this month. To continue reading, and support local, rural journalism, please subscribe.