Dexter’s Grant and Herrick selected for BDN All-Tourney Team

Share or Comment

BANGOR — Dexter Regional High School freshmen Peyton Grant and Avery Herrick both starred in their first career tournament games at the Cross Insurance Center and were honored for their play by being chosen as two of five players on the 2018 Bangor Daily News All-Tourney Team for Class C North.

Grant registered 61 points in three games including a team-high 22 against Houlton. She had 23 points against Fort Kent and 16 vs. Calais.

Herrick had 14-point performances against Fort Kent and Calais and her nine rebounds against Calais was a game-high.

Grant and Herrick are joined on the Class C North All-Tournament Team by Houlton senior Kollen Bouchard, Central of Corinth senior guard Sydney Allen and Calais sophomore guard Lauren Cook.

Bouchard was named the Bangor Daily News’ Owen O. Osborne Most Valuable Player for the fourth time. Bouchard was chosen the Class C North MVP for the second time after winning the award in Class B on two other occasions. She almost single-handedly led the Shiretowners to their fourth straight regional championship.

Bouchard scored 73 points in Houlton’s three tourney wins including a 27-point performance in the 33-30 overtime win in the regional final. Her 3-pointer with 24.1 seconds left forced overtime. She also had five steals, four rebounds, two blocked shots and two assists against Dexter.

She had 21 points in the 41-38 semifinal win over Central and had a steal and two free throws with 8.7 seconds left in overtime to give the Shires a four-point lead. She had 25 points and 11 rebounds in the quarterfinal win over Piscataquis of Guilford.

Central’s Allen had 17 points in the loss to Houlton after collecting 12 points, five rebounds and three assists in a quarterfinal win over Stearns of Millinocket.

For boys Class C North tournament play, Piscataquis senior Bryce Gilbert received honorable mention recognition.

The All-Tournament Team is comprised of tourney MVP Taylor Schildroth and Max Mattson, both of George Stevens Academy of Blue Hill; Isaac Cyr and Jared Harvey of Fort Fairfield; and Caden Spencer-Thompson of Mattanawcook Academy in Lincoln. Joining Gilbert as honorable mention players are Fort Kent’s Camden Jandreau and Jacob Daigle.

Share or Comment

Get the Rest of the Story

Thank you for reading your 4 free articles this month. To continue reading, and support local, rural journalism, please subscribe.