Clawson named Little Ten Conference Player of the Year; FA’s White earns top coaching honors

Share or Comment

Foxcroft Academy senior quarterback/defensive back Nick Clawson led the way as members of the Foxcroft and Dexter Regional High School were among the honorees during the 31st annual Little Ten Conference (LTC) All-Star Banquet on Dec. 3 at Jeff’s Catering in Brewer.

Clawson and Bucksport High School senior quarterback/defensive back Chase Carmichael were co-winners of the LTC’s Art Greenlaw Player of the Year honors.

Each of the 10 conference members nominated a player for the award and Dexter’s nominee was senior fullback/linebacker Tyler Beem.

The LTC Dale Curry Coach of the Year award was presented to Foxcroft head coach Danny White.

Pony junior Eli Bickford was recognized as the LTC Toogie McKay Offensive Lineman of the Year.

Beem and Tiger senior Matt Simpson both received Ken Libbey Memorial Scholarships.

The LTC names an all-conference team and Clawson and Carmichael were both First Team Offense selections under center.

Beem was on the First Team at fullback and Foxcroft junior Hyatt Smith was a wide receiver selection.

Along the First Team line is Bickford at tackle, Dexter junior David Kirshkain at guard and Foxcroft senior Cody Labbe at center.

Pony senior Levi Stedman was the LTC First Team placekicker selection.

Labbe was also chosen for the First Team Defense at end, as was Simpson.

Beem, Kirshkain and Foxcroft junior Michaleb Niles were among the First Team linebacker honorees.

Hyatt Smithi and fellow Pony junior Jeremy Richard were both selections at defensive back for the First Team.

Niles was named to the Second Team Offense as a running back while Richard earned Second Team Offense utility honors.

The Second Team line includes Dexter senior Tylor Handy at tackle and Foxcroft senior Reggie Johnston at guard.

Hyatt Smith was chosen as the Second Team punter, to earn LTC recognition on offense, defense and special teams.

Senior Jonathan Allen of Dexter was chosen for the Second Team Defense as a lineman.

Foxcroft senior R.J. Nelson was a Second Team Defense linebacker selection.

Clawson was recognized as a member of the Second Team defensive backfield.

Six players from the Dexter squad are LTC All-Academic picks. Receiving the classroom honor were Jonathan Allen, junior Dillion Allen Beem, senior Jacob Bickford, Handy and Kirshkain.

Foxcroft junior Caleb Ladd and Matthew Spooner are both representing their school on the All-Academic Team.

Observer file photo/Stuart Hedstrom
TOP LTC HONORS — Foxcroft Academy senior Nick Clawson was a co-recipient, along with Bucksport High School senior Chase Carmichael, of the Art Greenlaw Player of the Year honor from the Little Ten Conference. Clawson was a First Team selection at quarterback and he was chosen for the Second Team as a defensive back.

Observer file photo/Stuart Hedstrom
ALL-CONFERENCE FULLBACK — Dexter senior Tyler Beem was chosen for the LTC First Team Offense at fullback. Beem was also his team’s nominee as conference player of the year and he was a selection for the LTC All-Academic Team.

Share or Comment

Get the Rest of the Story

Thank you for reading your 4 free articles this month. To continue reading, and support local, rural journalism, please subscribe.