Runners young and old earn their treats on Saturday morning at Maine Whoopie Pie Festival

Share or Comment

DOVER-FOXCROFT — The Piscataquis Regional YMCA kicked off the 2017 Maine Whoopie Pie Festival on June 24 with the its annual Earn Your Whoopie Pie 3K and Kids’ 1K Fun Run, with both races starting on River Street. The younger runners ran down and back on River Street and the 3K course ended on East Main Street after also covering portions of Essex, Lincoln, Davis, Summer and North streets.

Cooper Nelson, a 2016 Foxcroft Academy graduate who now runs for the University of Maine cross country and track teams, was the 3K winner as he covered the route in 9 minutes, 23.5 seconds. Nelson also won the 2014 edition of the Earn Your Whoopie Pie 3K.

The rest of the competitors are as follows: 2. Stuart Hedstrom 10:36.6; 3. Karl Mitchell 11:06.4; 4. Evan Kingsbury 11:40.2; 5. Tessa Yardley 11:48.3; 6. Austin Seavey 11:52.2; 7. Reid Pavlik 12:04.3; 8. Conner Pavlik 12:14.8; 9. Paige Lily 12:38.5; 10. Peter Devine 12:40.5;

11. Sierra Post 12:53.4; 12. Tim Falvey 12:59.8; 13. Eric Kingsbury 13:08.4; 14. Aaron Smith 13:17.6; 15. Gary Larson 13:20.4; 16. Linda Ciancette 13:35.6; 17. Mary Ann McLean 13:38.6; 18. Scott Matteson 14:20.2; 19. Cindy Kingsbury 14:53.2; 20. Jody Peace 14:56.1;

21. Julie Richards 15:43.4; 22. Becky Mitchell 16:02.3; 23. Makenzie Pavlik 16:45.4; 24. Annie Norris 17:18.2; and 25. Breanna Knights 20:02.3.

Overall winner: Nelson and second: Hedstrom. Female winner: Yardley and second: Lily.

Age 17 and under male winner: Seavey. Female winner: Yardley and second: Lily.

Age 18-29 male winner: Nelson, second: Kingsbury, third; Reid Pavlik and fourth: Smith. Female winner: Post, second: Makenzie Pavlik and third: Knights.

Age 30-44 male winner: Hedstrom, second: Mitchell and third: Matteson. Female winner: Cianchette, second: Peace, third: McLean, fourth: Mitchell and fifth: Norris.

Age 45-plus male winner: Devine, second: Falvey, third: Kingsbury and fourth: Larson. Female winner: Kingsbury, second: Richards and third: Mitchell.

For the Kids’ 1K Fun Run Isaiah Brown won the boys 7 and under division at 5:28. The other six boys in the age group were 2. Simon Morris 6:09; 3. Gideon Stone 6:26; 4. Levi Dooley 7:16; 5. Emmett Richardson 9:41; 6. Brady Peace 10:30; and 7. Joshua Slome 11:35.

Ellie Richardson had the girls 7 and under class to herself as she won with a time of 9:40.

For boys 8-12 Noah Morris came in first at 4:58. Following was 2. Evan Seavey 5:13; 3. Liam McLean 5:26; 4. Lucky Wilson 5:48; and 5. Jacob Ponte 7:14.

In the girls 8-12 division the fastest time was run by Annabelle Harmon at 4:58. The other older runners were 2. Maggie Morris 7:18; 3. Winnie Rhoda 7:22; and 4. Ardis Casement 7:32.

Share or Comment

Get the Rest of the Story

Thank you for reading your 4 free articles this month. To continue reading, and support local, rural journalism, please subscribe.